top of page

Copper X Prix Preview

Written by William Stephens, Edited by Vyas Ponnuri

Credit: Sam Bagnall/Extreme E

The final Extreme E races will take place in the sandy backdrop of the Atacama desert, being rounds nine and ten on the calendar, and will decide the champions for the third season of Extreme E.

Among the contenders, Acciona Sainz come into the weekend in prime position, with 139 points to their name, leading the season one champions, and season two runners-up, RXR, the Nico Rosberg-owned team a mere three points behind, having taken three wins this season, against the two of Acciona Sainz.

Further back, Veloce are on the hunt for wins, to seal a first title in what has been Extreme E’s most competitive season ever. Veloce sits third with 118 points, and are two-time race winners in 2023. GMC Hummer EV Chip Ganassi and X44 round off the top five, on 99 and 87 points respectively, and stand an outside chance of taking the title.

The three kilometre-long track layout for the Copper X Prix features jumps, gradient changes and elevation changes, with a mix of high-speed corners to provide what could be the most action-packed weekend of Extreme E this year, while remaining similar to the layout of the previous year, one that proved to be very successful.

Yet again, a series of driver changes headline the run up to the weekend. Hedda Hosas has replaced the injured Emma Gilmore for the final race, with Tamara Molinaro consequently replacing Hosas at JBXE. Christine GZ takes over the championship driver role, joining Patrick O’Donovan.

Adrien Tambay takes over from Sebastian Loeb as the male driver for ABT Cupra, marking his first adventure into offroad racing. Tambay has been with the ABT family for a long time, racing in the DTM, and claiming the 2022 ETCR championship with the team.

Tambay has also tested the ABT Cupra Formula E car during season nine’s rookie tests at Berlin, driving the ABT Cupra Gen3 machine for the team.

Extreme E will crown the series champions live, on ITV and STV in the UK, with the global broadcast list found here:


bottom of page