top of page

F3: Browning takes second consecutive pole in front of home crowd

Written by Sean McKean

Credit - Formula Motorsport Limited

Despite the mixed conditions Silverstone threw at the 30 drivers, Luke Browning topped the field to take his second consecutive pole position. This is the British driver’s first pole position at the Silverstone circuit since his campaign in the Ginetta Junior Championship in 2018.

As it unfolded

As the green light showed at the end of the pitlane, it was AIX Racing’s Inthraphuvasak who reported that “it’s starting to rain.” Subsequently, the first flying laps would be crucial.

Christian Mansell and Laurens van Hoepen were the first drivers to set laps – skipping a portion of the tyre warmup phase. After this first run for everyone ended, though, the top three were Noel León, Alex Dunne, and Gabriele Minì.

A few notable surprises came from this run. Dino Beganovic – running wide at Copse Corner – had his lap time deleted, being scored at 30th. As well, Max Esterson scored in fifth. 

Right as the second runs began, the rain started to come down heavier. With the rain coming down heavier, the session was effectively over, or so it seemed.

After ten minutes, the drivers had gotten their tyres up to sufficient temperature to improve their laps. Callum Voisin originally set the fastest overall time, but he was soon usurped by Leonardo Fornaroli then Luke Browning.  

Luke Browning took his second consecutive pole position, this time in front of his home crowd. Max Esterson finished a surprising second. Sami Meguetounif was the best of the Tridents in third. Leonardo Fornaroli followed close behind in fourth. Laurens van Hoepen ended up in fifth.

Provisional Classification:

  1. Luke Browning (Hitech GP)

  2. Max Esterson (Jenzer Motorsport)

  3. Sami Meguetounif (Trident)

  4. Leonardo Fornaroli (Trident)

  5. Laurens van Hoepen (ART Grand Prix)

  6. Charlie Wurz (Jenzer Motorsport)

  7. Christian Mansell (ART Grand Prix)

  8. Nikola Tsolov (ART Grand Prix)

  9. Callum Voisin (Rodin Motorsport)

  10. Matías Zagazeta (Jenzer Motorsport)

  11. Arvid Lindblad (Prema Racing)

  12. Noel León (Van Amersfoort Racing)


bottom of page