top of page

F3: Tsolov takes first victory in Monte Carlo sprint

Written by Sean McKean

Credit - FIA Formula 3

The morning after his fellow Alpine junior took pole position, it was ART’s Nikola Tsolov that took his maiden FIA Formula 3 victory in the Monaco sprint race. From reverse-grid pole, he led the way despite the chaos to become F3’s seventh different winner this season.

As it unfolded

When the lights went out, Tsolov remained in first, but behind, Tim Tramnitz passed Laurens van Hoepen to move into second.

The major incident of the race came only one corner later. Battling for position, Arvid Lindblad and Christian Mansell came together in Casino Square and went around. This left many drivers with nowhere to go, resulting in a stack-up that eventually brought out the red flag. Once the dust settled, these were the drivers out of the race: Lindblad, Mansell, Joshua Dufek, Alex Dunne and Cian Shields.

On lap four, racing resumed after a lengthy clean up, and Tsolov retained his lead. After this dramatic start, Luke Browning moved from tenth to eighth and Joseph Loake found his way to fifth.

The race neutralised from there, with Tsolov solidifying his lead up front. 

However, behind him on lap 13, Kacper Sztuka retired from the race. He came into contact with VAR and Alpine junior driver Sophia Floersch, resulting in a puncture. This put both drivers out of the race, and the safety car had to come out once more.

On lap 16, the race resumed, and the Bulgarian shot out and never looked back. Tsolov cruised to his maiden F3 victory around the streets of Monte Carlo. Tim Tramnitz and Laurens van Hoepen rounded out the podium. Noel León finished fourth. Impressively, Joseph Loake took Rodin’s best result of this season in fifth.

Campos’ Mari Boya and Prema’s Dino Beganovic were the highest-placed drivers of their respective teams in sixth and seventh. Luke Browning retained the advantage he gained off the start to finish eighth. Rounding out the points-paying positions were Leonardo Fornaroli in ninth and Oliver Goethe in tenth.

Provisional Classification:

  1. Nikola Tsolov (ART Grand Prix)

  2. Tim Tramnitz (MP Motorsport)

  3. Laurens van Hoepen (ART Grand Prix)

  4. Noel León (Van Amersfoort Racing)

  5. Joseph Loake (Rodin Motorsport)

  6. Mari Boya (Campos Racing)

  7. Dino Beganovic (Prema Racing)

  8. Luke Browning (Hitech Grand Prix)

  9. Leonardo Fornaroli (Trident)

  10. Oliver Goethe (Campos Racing)


bottom of page