top of page

F1 2022 Calendar to have three sprint races

Written by Tanishka Vashee, Edited by Harshi Vashee

The FIA and all other stakeholders, after having discussions with the teams, have decided to host sprint races at three venues this year: Imola, Red Bull Ring and Interlagos.

Sprint races were introduced in the previous season, which was a short session of about 30 minutes that determined the starting grid for Sunday. While the audience has mixed feelings about the format, it certainly is a great way for circuits to boost ticket sales.

The system of rewarding points has been changed, under the old format only top three finishers would bag points but now they are up for grabs all the way down to P8.

Pole position will be taken by the fastest driver during qualifying session on Friday (just for sprint weekends), unlike the previous case where it was given to the winner of the sprint race.

Follow DIVEBOMB on all our socials:


bottom of page