top of page

Tokyo to Host Formula E Race in 2024, Season 10 Calendar Released

Written by Cameron Gale, Edited by Vyas Ponnuri

Credit - FIA Formula E

FIA Formula E recently published the calendar for Season 10 of Formula E, set to take place in 2024. The electric racing series is set to visit Tokyo for the first time in 2024.

The Tokyo E Prix is set to take place on Saturday, 30th March, 2024 and it will be the first time Formula E makes its way into Tokyo. 22 drivers and 11 teams will compete in the GEN3 race car- the fastest, lightest, and most efficient electric race car ever built - on roads around the Tokyo Big Sight Convention Centre, on the Tokyo Bay waterfront.

The governor of Tokyo,Yuriko Koike spoke on the announcement,

“I am delighted by the official decision that Tokyo will host a Formula E race in March 2024, Centering on spreading the use of zero emission vehicles, the Tokyo Metropolitan Government is accelerating actions in all realms to realise Zero Emission Tokyo, an environmentally advanced city that does not emit carbon dioxide.”

“This race will be held around Tokyo Big Sight in Tokyo’s bay area, where developments are underway to become a sustainable next generation city. Fans will definitely be looking forward to seeing the dynamism of this race up close, to be held for the first time in Japan, and cheer the racers on.

The race will not only add momentum to the spread of zero emission vehicles, but will also provide a wonderful opportunity to enhance Tokyo’s international presence and tourism, by showing the attractions of Japan’s capital city to the world. Tokyo will join forces with the organisers, alongside other stakeholders involved in the race, in order to ensure its success.”

Credit - FIA Formula E

Season 10 of the ABB Formula E championship is set to begin in Mexico City on 13th January, 2024, and the season finale is set to take place in London, on 21st July,2024, the second race of the London double-header.

Three rounds of the 17-race provisional calendar have been listed as TBD (To Be Determined) while Formula E continues discussions with the organisers of the Hyderabad and Cape Town E Prix, while Formula E also contemplates hosting a race in Malaga as well.

Berlin will also maintain its record as the only city to host an E-prix in all 10 seasons of the championship, consolidating its reputation as a popular venue for drivers and fans, who witnessed a record-breaking 190 overtakes and 23 lead changes in Round seven this season.

Diriyah will be the only night race on the calendar, and the first double-header on the calendar as well, while the crown jewel of racing, Monaco, will continue to host a single race. Rome and Jakarta will continue to host races as well.

“We are excited to take Formula E to the streets of Tokyo next season," said Alberto Longo, Co-Founder & Chief Championship Officer, Formula E. "It is an iconic world city providing the perfect backdrop to showcase the unique qualities of our sport and will capture global attention. The Season 10 calendar represents our ongoing mission to create a dynamic schedule of new cities hosting races for the first or second time like Tokyo, São Paulo and Portland alongside established hosts like Berlin, Rome, London, Monaco, Diriyah and now Jakarta.”

“Tokyo will be a highlight of our historic 10th season," adds Jeff Dodds, Chief Executive Officer, Formula E. "We are also in advanced discussions with many more iconic world cities who are keen to host a Formula E race and create blockbuster world championship motorsport events with us. We expect this to be reflected in the updated calendar published later this year.”


bottom of page